It was around 9am, when one of my neighbours knocked on my door just to ask if I´d smell something, too. I did. I already did so for some minutes but thought it was my laptop or something else. Sometimes I smell weird things, so I didn´t really worry about it. Until that moment. The whole hallway was filled with a biting smell that made it difficult to locate its origin. Some minutes later it was obvious. Smoke coming out of a door is pretty much a reliable sign of fire. The appartment face to face with my own one seemed to be burning. About 20 minutes later a group of firefighters put out a fire in my neighbours kitchen. He accidentally started his cooker and left the appartment. A board (one of those you use for breakfast) caught fire and there the whole drama ends. The whole house smells like a smokehouse, I for my part am happy when this day´s over, but everyone´s alive and fine. Still, a fire out of control and so close is something I never wanted to experience… And if anyone ever again calls me obsessive because I check the kitchen before I leave my appartment: One day it may safe your life. Or maybe at least your belongings.

Now I need some more chocolate…

